India vs New Zealand 2nd T20 I Highlights: Rohit Sharma all smiles as IND Will Be win 2021


India vs New Zealand 2nd T20 Highlights: India beat New Zealand by five wickets in the first T20I

India vs New Zealand: Suryakumar Yadav 62 runs in first T20I vs New Zealand.© Twitter

India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the first T20I at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday to go one up in the three-match series. Suryakumar Yadav top-scored for India while batting at Number 3 in the absence of former T20I skipper Virat Kohli. Yadav scored 62 runs in 40 balls and added 59 runs with skipper Rohit Sharma for the second wicket. Rohit fell two-run short of his 25th fifty in the format. The India skipper also added 50 runs with KL Rahul for the first wicket that set the early tone for Team India in the chase of 165 runs. In the last four overs, New Zealand bowlers made a good comeback and India needed 10 runs in the final over. However, Rishabh Pant smashed a boundary on the fourth ball off the final over to put India 1-0 up in the three-match series. Earlier, New Zealand, after being asked to bat, had put 164 runs on the board for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Martin Guptill top-scored for New Zealand with his impressive knock of 70 off just 42 balls. Guptill and Mark Chapman added 109 runs for the second wicket before the latter was dismissed for 63 by Ravichandra Ashwin. For India, Ashwin was the pick of the bowlers as he returned figures of 2/23 while Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped picked two wickets. The second T20I will be played at the JSCA Cricket Stadium in Ranchi on Friday. (SCORECARD)

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I Highlights Straight From Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

India vs New Zealand Highlights: India took a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series after beating New Zealand by five wickets in Jaipur. In what should have been a rather straightforward win, the situation became complicated after Trent Boult's twin-dismissals of Rohit Sharma (48) and Suryakumar Yadav (62) in back-to-back overs. It was Rishabh Pant (17*), who eventually took India past the finishing line in the final over after prolonged struggles by Indian batters in the death overs of the innings. Earlier, Martin Guptill (70) and Mark Chapman (63) took New Zealand to a fighting total of 164/6. India's Rohit Sharma had won the toss and opted to bowl.


At one stage, India looked set for a cruising victory but Trent Boult's twin-strike pulled New Zealand back in the game. India scored only 14 runs in the three overs between 17-19 but Rishabh Pant, in the end, eventually held his nerve to take India past the line.


19 - WIDE. Too wide outside-off from Mitchell.

19.1 - 4! What a start from Venkatesh Iyer! A slower delivery but little fuller, and he finds the gap between long-on and deep midwicket.

19.2 - OUT! Oh Iyer, what have you done. The batter plays a reverse sweep on the delivery outside-off, and gets caught by the only fielder behind square.

19.2 - WIDE! Too wide outside-off again.

19.3 - 1 run. Outside off from Mitchell and Axar pushes it for a single. Rishabh Pant on strike.

19.4 - 4! INDIA WIN! Pant steps out and slams a fuller delivery straight over mid-on for a boundary.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post